Accused of Drug Crimes in Oceanside, California?
Oceanside, California, is located in North San Diego County, just south of Camp Pendleton. Oceanside covers a fairly large geographic area, and has a diverse socio-economic population. Criminal and drug-related activities in Oceanside are higher than some of the surrounding communities because of its beach location, and its large, diverse, transient and tourist population.
Any drug charge can have long-lasting effects on your future, your employment and in many other areas of your life. Personal-use drug possession is serious, but there may be alternatives to prosecution which can be negotiated. On the other hand, possession for sale, transportation or sale of drugs carry serious consequences, which can include local custody or even prison, and are ineligible for alternative treatment.
When cases are investigated, law enforcement officers are looking to develop information in a case that can and will be used against you. The conversation may begin as a casual question or two. Before you speak with police it is important to discuss your case with an experienced Oceanside and North County drug offense attorney.
The lawyers of the Christoph Law Offices have handled hundreds of drug cases over the past 45 years, offer free initial consultations and are prepared to help you through the process — from the interview with a detective through all court proceedings.
California Drug Charges Under the California Health and Safety Code
In California, drug charges fall under the California Health and Safety Code, and can include:
- Possession for personal use of a controlled substance
- Possession for sale or distribution
- Transportation of drugs or controlled substances
- Manufacturing drugs
- Possession of drug paraphernalia
Drug charges in Oceanside can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. Some drug possession charges are known as “wobblers” — crimes that can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. Drug offense penalties can include local custody or prison, fines up to $10,000, suspension or revocation of driving privileges, and registration as a narcotics offender with local law enforcement. There may be programs like Diversion, Prop 36 or Drug Court for possession of small personal-use amounts of drugs. In some cases we are able to get more serious possession for sale cases reduced and eligible for alternative disposition.
Drug Offense Attorneys With More Than 45 Years Experience
There may be alternative dispositions under California drug laws, and we invite you to contact us for a free consultation so that we can discuss your unique circumstances and the options available to you. Contact us for a free initial consultation; call us today at 760-659-2149.
For over 30 years, we have been in the Vista courts on a daily basis and have been located directly across from the Vista Courthouse the entire time.