New 2019 DUI License suspension laws change previous license suspension laws. There are usually 2 types of driver license suspensions which occurr in a 1st offense DUI case. There is the 4 month pink sheet administrative suspension for individuals 21 and over with a .08 Blood Alcohol (BA) level or more and the 6 month suspension triggered by a DUI conviction. The pink sheet admin suspension required a one month "NO DRIVING" suspension before you could convert the 4 suspension to a 5 month restriction for work and DUI programs. DUI cases with the arrest after January 1, 2019 are now allowed to get a restricted license right away without the 30 day no driving suspension period before applying.
A DUI can cause a DUI license suspension if convicted of a DUI and/or the blood alcohol (B.A.) level is .08 or more if you are age 21 or more and it is a first offense. It is possible, however, to convert that 4 or 6 month suspesnion to a restricted license to and from and the course of employment and Court ordered programs. If you are under 21 years old or on probation for a DUI there is a zero tolerance and a license suspension for 1 year will be imposed. A critical need restricted license for work or school may be available for a first offense if you are under 21. There is no restriction for one year if you are on DUI probation at the time of a second arrest.
There are two possible license suspensions with a DUI arrest. One is upon conviction and one is a DMV suspension triggered by being .08 blood alcohol level (BA) or more at the time of driving. This DMV DUI license suspension can be delayed or in some cases avoided if a DMV hearing is set. These suspensions can start 30 days after a DUI arrest if you were a .08 blood alcohol (BA) level or more, 21 or more years old with a valid license at the time of the stop and you failed to set up a DMV hearing. The officer should have given you a pink sheet suspension notice/temporary license. It will also start 30 days later if you are under 21 years old, or on probation for DUI, or you refused the blood test and failed to set up a DMV hearing, then there is a one year suspension. Additionally, even if your license was not taken from you or you were not given a suspension notice and temporary license, a conviction for DUI also will trigger a seperate suspension. These suspensions can be converted in most cases to a restricted license for work, programs etc. after 30 days of suspension.
There is a DUI license suspension action in addition to any suspension resulting from a conviction if there is alcohol involved in most cases if you are .08 Blood Alcohol level or greater or .01 or greater if under 21 or on DUI probation. If you are arrested for DUI and there was no alcohol in your system only drugs and there was no refusal to take the test, then you are facing only the possible suspension if there is a conviction for DUI. Most cases involve alcohol and there is a separate suspension notice and 30 day temporary pink slip given to you at the time of arrest when your California license is taken away by the officer, or you are served this pink sheet notice and you have an out of state license.
There may be a DUI license suspension after an Escondido DUI arrest just like anywhere in California. There are two types of suspensions possible after an arrest. There is suspension triggered by a conviction for VC 23152(a) DUI or VC 23I52(b) .08 BA or more, which can be converted to a restricted license in most first offense cases if you are age 21 or older. Underage drivers have to apply for a critical need license. The most common suspension which needs immediate action is as a result of being .08 or more BA (blood alcohol level) or .01 BA or more if on probation or under 21 years old.