Vista Court DUI cases may require special attention as they move through the system. In addition to understanding the California admininistrative proceedures concerning license supension if no hearing is set with DMV within 10 days of arrest, there are the local Court issues that may impact a defendant at the first appearance in the arraignment Court. If the blood alcohol (BA) level is .20 or more on a first offense or there are priors, then the Court routinely orders defendants to wear a SCRAM alcohol monitoring ankle braceklet until the case is resolved. There are ways to address this issue and many times avoid an initial SCRAM monitoring that is why it may be important to contact an attorney who regularly defends DUI cases in North County.
DUI "pink sheet" suspensions are separate from the supensions resulting from DUI convictions. The "pink sheet" is the Notice of Suspension and Temporary License that is given to you when you are arrested for an alcohol DUI. Your license continues to be valid for 30 days if your license was valid at the time of the DUI arrest, until the supension takes effect. The length of the suspension depends on the violation. In order to keep your license longer, you must set a DMV Hearing to challenge the suspension by calling DMV within 10 days of your arrest and set either an "in person" or telephonic hearing.
A scooter driver cited for DUI in San Diego after he was involved in an accident with a vehicle whe he croseed in front of a car exiting SR 163. A sccoter with an electric motor is a "vehicle" for purposes of Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. California Vehicle Code (CVC) section 670 defines a ""vehicle" as a "device by which any person or property may be propelled, moved, or drawn upon a highway, excepting a device moved exclusively by human power or used exclusively upon staionary rails or tracks."
DUI arrests are down significantly in San Diego since ride share services of Uber and Lyft began. In a study by the Moll Law Group, DUI arrests have fallen by 32% since 2012 when Uber and Lyft began service in San Diego. There are still a significant number of DUI arrests each year, but Uber and Lyft have definitely had a beneficial impact on the number of cases.
Drunk Driving defense in Vista Courts and throughout California usually involve two different proceedings. There is the DMV administrative suspension proceeding against in invidual's drivers license and the Criminal Court case. Many people overlook the DMV administrative suspension proceedings and don't realize that the pink sheet notice of suspension and temporary license is separate from the arrest and criminal court proceedings.
DUI plea bargains in Vista Courts vary depending on a number of factors. Plea bargains can involve possible lesser or different charges, striking allegations, lessening penalties, military diversion and in rare cases dismissal. The strength of the case, the facts, blood alcohol or drug level, field sobreity tests, attitude with law enforcement, dangerousness of the driving, prior record and other information concerning the driver. Driver information can be important especially where it would tend to support a better disposition, like military service, effect conviction will have on vocational licenses, immigration, achievements, future goals.
A DUI checkpoint is a mobile roadblock where law enforcement officers briefly stop traffic, briefly interview drivers and suspected DUI drivers are further detained for further sobriety testing in order to try to keep impaired drivers off the road. The sobreity checkpoints have been ruled legal because the danger posed by DUI drivers outweighs the minimal intrusion of briefly stopping traffic without probable cause. There are still a number of regulations which must be followed to have a "legal sobriety checkpoint".
Military diversion includes DUI offenses now that the legislature has passed and the Governor signed legislation stating that misdemeanor DUI cases, VC 23152 violations, are included as divertable offenses per Penal Code 1001.80. Appellate Courts in California were split on whether or not DUI cases were included because of an old statute prohibiting diversion in DUI cases. The California Supreme Court was to decide in October, but since the legislature has clarified the diversion statute, the matter is resolved.
Drug DUI cases are treated a little different than alcohol cases. If you are arrested for a "Drug DUI" and there is no alcohol, the law enforcement officer should not take your California licenase at the time of arrest nor should they issue a pink sheet suspension notice and 30 day temporary license pending a suspension. That proceedure is limited to alcohol violations, however, if there is a conviction for a Drug DUI, then there is a suspension the same as there would be for an alcohol DUI.
It is only a felony DUI with an accident in Vista Courts and throughout California if the accident was caused by the DUI driver and another person is injured or killed. If it is an accident with no one else injured other than the DUI driver, then it is still a misdemeanor. An accident, however can cause increased penalties even as a misdemeanor that are greater than a DUI without an accident.